The 19th National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) Ceremony on Saturday was full of glitz and glamour as the country’s outstanding artists for 2019 were crowned.

The event began with a massive collaboration performance of “Ngaibake” featuring Alick Macheso, Vabati Vajehova, Freeman and Amara Brown. This act was followed by pre-recorded speeches by the National Arts Council of Zimbabwe (NACZ) board chairman Professor Herbert Chimhundu who gave welcome remarks, Professor Ruby Magosvongwe the chairperson of the NAMA adjudicators and the guest of honour the Minister of Youth Sport Arts and Recreation, Honourable Kirsty Coventry.

The Awards which were hosted by Actor Leroy Gopal and Actress Mbo Mahocs saw T Gonzi and Ishan bag two gongs apiece as Outstanding Male Musician and Outstanding New Comer respectively with their Hit Song “Kure” earning them an award for the Outstanding Song of the Year. Other winners were:


Outstanding Female Dancer

Dadirai                 Mupandawana             in                  Ezimnyama Dance Group

Outstanding Male Dancer

Selemani Mpochi   aka    Majuice          in            Ochestra Mberikwazvo


 Outstanding 2 Dimensional work

Cyclone Idai where is Mommy?            by          Calvin Chimutuwah

Outstanding 3-Dimensional Works

Tribute to the mother of generations       by                 Stanley Mutanga

Outstanding Mix Work

Distorted History                        by          Anthony Bumhira

Outstanding Exhibition

Pieces for Peace, Pieces, Revolutionary Freshness   by     Talent Kapadza & Shuna Herscovitz


Outstanding Poet

Sithembile Siqhoza Ndebele         aka   Zingizwanizinja

Outstanding Comedian

Learnmore Mwanyenyeka     aka    Long John


Outstanding Journalist – Print

Tafadzwa Kachiko                                 –        Newsday

Outstanding Journalist -Radio

Anesu Masamvu               –               ZiFM

Outstanding Journalist – Television

Masceline Bondamakara  –       ZBC

Outstanding Online Media



Outstanding Actor

Ronald Madodana Sigeca         in           Imbokodo

Outstanding Actress

Charmaine Mudau       in           Imbokodo

Outstanding Theatrical Production

Bongile                              by           Chiedza Makwara

Outstanding Director

Yeukai Yvonne Chandiposha    of     Bongile


Outstanding First Creative Published Work

A People’s Fight        by           Fradreck Hombiro          [Hombiro Media Company]

Outstanding Children’s Book

Songs of the Little Creatures    by    Phumulani Chipandambira   [Chipandambira Archives]

Outstanding Fiction Book

Out of Darkness, Shining Light     by     Petina Gappah      [Scribner]

Outstanding Poetry Book

Agringanda Like a Gringa Like a Foreigner by   Tariro Ndoro   [Modjaji Books]


Outstanding Actress

Antoinette Sango                                as    Thandi  in  Mandla

Outstanding Actor

Percy Soko                       as  Mandla             in     Mandla

Outstanding Music Video

Sunshine City Directed  by      Kalai Faye Barlow ft.  Flying Bantu

Outstanding Screen Production (Television)

Mandla                              Directed by      Solomon Mandaza

Outstanding Screen Production (Short Film)

Redefining the Road           Directed by        Tapiwa Gambura

Outstanding Screen Production (Full length Film)

Stay with Me             Directed  by         Nick Zemura


Outstanding Newcomer

Isheanesu Chigagura    aka    Ishan

Outstanding Female Musician

Thamsanqa Moyo         aka        Tammy Moyo

Outstanding Male Musician

Tinashe Gonzara        aka   Ti Gonzi

Outstanding Song

Kure                                            by        Ishan ft Ti Gonzi

Outstanding Album

Uhuru                 by          Willis Kachambwa       aka Willis Wataffi


Artist in the Diaspora

Vusa Mkhaya

Promoter of the Year

D& G Promotions

Arts Personality Award


Arts Service Award                                                                                                                                                             

Dr,Solomon Guramatunhu

Lifetime Achievement

Mbuya Stella Chiweshe

People’s Choice Award

Wallace Chirimuko a.k.a Winky D